North Mississippi Barroom Blues

by | Feb 11, 2006

Aquarium Drunk is offering three free tunes from John Hermann’s 2001 Fat Possum Records debut, Smiling Assassin. The version of “Lonely Avenue,” with John Bell singing background vocals cooks.

JoJo’s Fat Possum follow up, Defector.

In October 2000, Hermann holed up with longtime pals Luther and Cody Dickinson (DDT, The North Mississippi All-Stars) and Paul “Crumpy” Edwards (Bloodkin) in Water Valley’s Money Shot Studio where they recorded the album The Smiling Assassin.

If you visit the Fat Possum page for the album, you can also download two more tracks, making five in all, factoring in Aquarium Drunk’s offering.

Fat Possum, an Oxford label, also has several other notable artisits on their roster: Solomon Burke, The Black Keys, Heartless Bastards and Junior Kimbrough to name a few.